Prizegiving 2022

Prizegiving was held in December 2022 in Haere-Roa at the University of Canterbury and was very well attended, thank you to everyone who managed to make it on the night.

We were privileged to have John Mitchell attend to present the Mitchell Cup to the most outstanding 1st XI player which went to Isaac Milne. John Mitchell is retired divisional principle from Burnside High School who is still heavily involved with The Willows cricket club, as well as being a first class cricketer.

Isaac Milne

The teams individually presented their team awards and this was followed up by the club awards and the presentation of the Year 13 Leavers. We thank them for their contribution to our club and wish them every success in the future.

Year 13 Leavers, presented with an engraved mini bat

Congratulation to Ben Pienaar who was award the Tom Latham Kookaburra Scholarship in association with Cricket Express.

Ben Pienaar, 2022 Tom Latham Kookaburra Scholarship winner

The club would like to thank our partners who generously donated their time as well funding to support Youth Cricket.

  • Blackwells Mazda
  • Cricket Express
  • Kookaburra
  • Robbies Riccarton
  • Quion Structural Engineers
  • Drayton Cartage
  • Action Indoor Sports Hornby

The clubs association with both Burnside-West Christchurch University Cricket Club and Merivale-Papanui Cricket Club as well Burnside & Papanui High School who together support youth cricket

A special shoutout to all of the volunteers who are put in the time and energy to keep the sport going, those coaching volunteers wear presented with a Robbies Riccarton voucher.

Photo Credit = Addison Stackhouse

Here is a link to all the prizewinners – NWYC PRIZEWINNERS 2022